jump to navigation

Natty’s Funky Fresh Friday video: Mobb Deep – “Shook Ones pt. II” January 25, 2008

Posted by rugwu in Funky Fresh Friday, Hip-hop, Video.
Tags: ,
trackback

By Natalia Ciolko

Before they were making Caribbean and champagne videos a la “Big Pimpin” with Nas and Hype Williams, Mobb Deep were just two hard, gully dudes reppin’ their block and spitting hot fire in every shot. This video opens with three men preparing some crack and boasting about murder. I can never forget the shots of M.D. and their crew illuminated by night time trashcan fires. How can you not love this kid, looking deep in the camera, “I’m only 19 but my mind is older and when things get for real, my warm heart gets colder.” And don’t forget: “No such thing as halfway crooks.”

Even more Mob Deep after the jump.

I never do this but I also have to include the other Mobb Deep video that was ALMOST the pick of the week. “Give Up The Goods (Just Step)” This is an amazing track featuring Big Noyd. The ladies love it. This is some serious house party shiz, and when I hear the phrase ‘classical music,’ this is what I hear. The predictive line, “Can’t stop till I’m eatin’ off a platinum plate,” has definitely come true. Now one can only wonder if they would do it differently.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

