jump to navigation

Natty’s Funky Fresh Friday video: The Pharcyde – “Drop” February 1, 2008

Posted by rugwu in Funky Fresh Friday, Hip-hop, Video.
Tags:
trackback

By Natalia Ciolko

In the hottest summer of the sweetest year, just before graduation, I bought my first car- a smooth-lookin’ 1990 2-door with a big backseat and a tape deck. As I celebrated my new 4-wheel freedom, I only listened to two tapes all summer long- Bizarre Ride II by the Pharcyde and Sailing The Seas of Cheese by Primus. The latter only came in handy once in a blue moon, while the Pharcyde joint was my everyday. First thing in the morning, I would wake up to the jazzy “Passin Me By,” reminiscing with the windows down, and by late afternoon I would be bouncing to “Return of the B-Boy,” which very nearly caused several fender benders.

Today, the first of the month (which is looking very auspicious indeed) calls for Pharcyde. It’s sunny, breezy, spring-like outside and above all, its Phriday! The video is so much fun to watch you might play it twice. Spike Jonze directed this crazy piece of work, and his cameo is killer, same said for the Beastie Boy action. I am getting back to my tapedeck roots by cranking this one up in the Life & Arts office, with the door thrown open. The sound is truly fresh air.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

